June 24, 2009

Serena nominated for ESPY Award

SERENA WILLIAMS, Candace Parker, Olympic all-around gymnastics champion Nastia Liukin, Olympic swimmer Natalie Coughlin and Connecticut basketball player Maya Moore have been nominated for the Best Female Athlete ESPY award.

The ESPY Awards take place in LA to honor the coolest and best star athletes and memorable moments from the past year. The 17th Annual ESPY awards (hosted by Samuel L. Jackson) will take place on July 15th and the taped ceremony will air on ESPN on July 19 at 9PM.

Begun by cable sports channel ESPN in 1993, the annual ESPY Awards allows sports fans worldwide to join in an online vote for their favorites in such categories as Best Male Athlete, Best Female Athlete, Best Coach/Manager, Team of the Year, Breakthrough Athlete, Best Moment, and Best Comeback of the Year. Unlike most awards shows, the ESPYs are probably most noted for its contribution to charity, as a portion of the proceeds is donated to The V Foundation, named for its founder, Jim Valvano. The Arthur Ashe Courage Award is another ESPY highlight, honoring an invidual for their personal courage or charitable works outside the sports arena, with past winners including such trailblazers as Muhammad Ali and tennis star Billie Jean King.

No comments: