January 31, 2009

Noteworthy Australian Open statistics

Serena defeated three (consecutive) Russians on her way to claiming the Australian Open title (her 10th Grand Slam Singles Title and 20th Grand Slam title overall):
Quarterfinal: (8th Seed) - Svetlana Kuznetsova
Semifinal: (4th Seed) - Elena Dementieva
Final: (3rd Seed) - Dinara Safina

Serena has won the Australian Open every odd-numbered year since 2003:
(2003, 2005, 2007 and 2009).

Second straight major where winning the title vaults Serena back to the # 1 ranking

1st time Serena has won the Australian Open with the roof open.

No comments: