January 31, 2009

Serena in rarefied company with 4th Aussie Win

For the women, the most Australian Open titles won (in the Open Era) is four. That means, Serena becomes just the fifth woman to have won the title four times. The other women are: Margaret Smith Court, Evonne Goolagong, Steffi Graff and Monica Seles. Having won the 1st Grand Slam tournament of the year, Serena puts herself in a great position to complete the Calendar Year Grand Slam. She is also very close to duplicating the Serena Slam (when she held all four majors at once but not in the same year). She has been in each of the last three finals and is the current holder of the 2008 US Open and 2009 Australian Open titles.

No comments: